top of page

New way of training!

About a week or two ago, I made the new purchase of a Pessoa Lunging System. This was because I was just not satisfied with the use of side reins on the young or green horses. They would all tense up and not move forward, or run around pullng on them with their heads in the air. This made it a lot harder once I started introducing them to flat work. They didn't like the contact, which I do understand is natural at first. But if I was going through the effort of lunging them, I wanted it to be showing some results. So I hit the internet and explored every possible option of where to go from here. This is where I discovered the Pessoa System. Everyone had raved about it so much, that I had to try it for myself. I brought a cheap second hand (it was basically new, and got a bargain really!). So it arrived about a week ago, and I decided to try one of my young TBs in it. She had been flatwork schooled before and understood the concept of going on the bit, but again hated the side reins and went terrible in them. After about 10 minutes of trying work out what the hell all these ropes on her were ofr, she figured it out, and all I can say is WOW! I mean shes still getting used to the whole thing and it isnt perfect work (yet!) but the change was tremendous! I could not believe it. I could highly recommend it to anyone who has the same problems with side reins. I have put a picture below, which shows my young one schooling in it. You can see its not the best as of yet (mostly due to a badly timed photo on my part), but she is still learning and this was awesome for her on the lunge.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page